top of page

Fear to Fascination


I'll let you in on a little secret. As a kid, I was terribly afraid of thunderstorms. I can remember cowering at the slightest rumble in the distance. I think it stemmed from the time lightning struck the television antenna at my babysitter's house, destroying the TV I was seated in from to of.

As time went on, I would pay very close attention to what the weather was up to. I would watch the movements of the cloud, and begin to learn the signs of bad weather.

I also paid close attention to the forecasts on TV or radio. I also read ny books or magazines about weather, I could lay my hands on.

as the years went by, my fear of storms, gradually morphed into anticipation for their arrival. I can remember many times when stared out the classroom window, instead of paying attention in class. I would've given anything to be able to run outside, rather that looking through the window that confined my view.

Today, with all the books, online articles, weather apps, & podcasts devoted to weather, one can consume all the weather their heart desires. Oh, to have had all of this, back when I was a kid.

To those of you who may quake in fear when the skies turn dark, I say learn al you can. Your fear may vanish & you, too, may come away with a new fascination.

Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page