top of page

Radio: from my beginning


Yesterday, I mentioned how I became interested in weather. Today, I'll do the same for Radio.

When I was a young boy, we were firmly entrenched in the color television era. I can still remember the Curtis Mathes color console in our small living room. It was more like a piece of furniture. More vivid, are the memories of Mom singing along when her favorite Motown songs would come on the kitchen radio. Or, the football & baseball play-by-play coming from the garage, while Dad worked. For my grandmother, it was country music. She found that she slept better with the radio playing all night long.

I fell in love with the DJ's patter between records. Dad even helped me build a crystal radio. It was nowhere near as good as our other radios, but I was enthralled by being able to hear radio from excess stuff we had around the house. One year, I was given a 20-in-1 electronic project kit. One of the projects was , a radio transmitter. I never needed to find out what else you could build. Even though the transmitter only had a range of a few feet, that was enough the reel me in.

When I later took radio in college, my instructor warned us not to expect to be a Bob Collins or Larry Lujack. That didn't dissuade me in the least. I was happy working for my dream.

I'm thankful that I got to live my dream. I've had so much fun spinning the platters (now, computer files) & going out in the field for the interviews. I even love the prep time, which is sometimes longer that the show, itself.

I'm in it. I'm living my dream.

Thanks to everyone who helped make that dream come true.

Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page