top of page

Radio in a new home

I've recently moved to a new home. As I moved my radio collection, I thought of all the exciting, new listening possibilities. Everything from where to set up the radios, to antenna placement ideas, were rolling around in my head.

Here's what I'm planning:

The yard has many trees to string up wire for a shortwave antenna. There's not enough room for a long beverage antenna for AM broadcast.

I'm thinking of installing two FM dipole antennas. One will face southeast/northwest, for the Chicago market. The other will be oriented northeast/southwest, mainly for Milwaukee. Southwest also happens to be the direction where most of my E-spip signals come from, every summer.

This house has many light dimmer switches. These are not good for AM reception. Those will be replaced with traditional switches.

I have also set up my modem/router as far away from the antennas as possible. That will lessen the interference on the AM and Shortwave bands.

These are some thoughts I've had for my new home. Now, thou work begins.

Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page